

Dr. Horace Sturgis overlooking construction of original library, ca. 1965

#### 1963

Board of Regents charters a new junior college in Cobb County.

#### 1964

Hubert Dewberry of the Chancellor's office and a steering committee select an area formerly part of the Steve Frey farm as the campus site for the new junior college in Cobb County.

## 1965

Dr. Horace Sturgis named the first president of the new junior college in Cobb County.

# 1967

KJC campus opens.

#### 1968

KJC receives full accreditation status from the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

## 1966

#### Kennesaw Junior College (KJC) holds its first classes on the campus of the Southern confers degrees Technical Institute, and on five students. the first issue of the school newspaper, The Sentinel, is published.

# 1967

KJC holds its first commencement ceremony and

> Kennesaw Junior College dance, 1967





Kennesaw Junior College bus, ca. 1970



Attendees at the dedication of the James V. Carmichael Student Center, 1975

#### 1975

Dedication of the James V. Carmichael Student Center.

#### 1977

KJC becomes Kennesaw College (KC).

1976 KJC is granted fouryear status by the Board of Regents.

## 1981

KC names Dr. Betty L. Siegel as its second president. Dr. Siegel is the first woman president within the University intercollegiate System of Georgia.

## 1982

KC establishes athletics.

#### 1984

The Board of Regents approves the first master's degree programs at KC.

# 1980

KC awards its first bachelors degrees.

# 1981

Dr. Siegel establishes the View of the Future Committee to strengthen professional and educational practices at KC.

## 1983

KC establishes the First-Year Experience program.





President Betty L. Siegel at her desk, ca. 1982



Student playing intercollegiate athletics at Kennesaw College, 1983

#### 1988

KC turns twentyfive and is renamed Kennesaw State College.

#### 1990

Enrollment at KSC exceeds 10,000 students



Kennesaw State College baseball team wins NAIA Championship, 1994

## 1992

The NCAA accepts KSC into the Division II level for intercollegiate athletics.

## 1994-1995

The KSC baseball and softball teams win the NAIA tournament and the NCAA Division II Championship, respectively.



Kennesaw College enrollment reaches 10,000 students, 1990

#### 1996

The Board of Regents grants university status to KSC and approves its name change to Kennesaw State University (KSU).

Kennesaw State College Baseball Team wins NCAA Divison Division II Championship, 1996







Groundbreaking for Bobbie Bailey Athletic Complex, ca. 2000

## 2002

First residence halls open on KSU's campus.



Kennesaw State University 40th Anniversary Cake Cutting, 2003

## 2003-2004

KSU's women's soccer team and men's basketball team win NCAA Division II Championships.

# 2006

Dr. Daniel S. Papp becomes the third president of KSU following the retirement of Dr. Betty Siegel.



Inauguration of Dr. Daniel S. Papp, 2006



2007

KSU reaches an enrollment milestone of 20,000 students.

Women's soccer team wins NCAA Championship, 2003



2010

KSU awards its

first doctoral

degrees.



Dr. Papp awards Kennesaw State University's first Ed.D to James Clinton, 2010

2015

# 2015

KSU officially consolidates with Southern Polytechnic State University.

## 2016

After the retirement of Dr. Daniel Papp, Mr. Sam Olens becomes the fourth president of KSU.

# 2018

Dr. Pamela Whitten becomes the fifth president of KSU.



President Whitten receiving her first Talon Card with Scrappy, 2018

KSU begins its inaugural football season.

# 2017-2018

Kennesaw State University's football team wins backto-back Big South Conference championships.

First annual "First Day of School Cake," 2018

